Educational Service Unit No 5 serves the educational needs of students, teachers, parents and administrators in the Southeast corner of Nebraska. The counties we serve are Gage, Jefferson and Thayer counties.


Educational Service Units were created by the Nebraska Legislature in 1965.  Educational ServiceUnit No 5 is located in Beatrice, Nebraska and is one of 17 ESU’s statewide.  Nebraska Department of Education Rule 84 guides Educational Service Units in effectively and efficiently supporting school systems and establishes a level of performance for ESU accreditation.


Educational Innovation For Teaching and Learning


The Vision of Educational Service Unit 5 is to enhance opportunities for all learners.

Core Values and Beliefs

  • Respect (Integrity, Honesty, Trust and Loyalty)
  • Equitable
  • Innovate & Educate
  • Collaborate & Communicate
  • Continuous


Educational Service Unit 5’s greatest purpose is to provide opportunities and quality programs for member school districts.  With a solid vision, strong leadership, support, and approval from the board and resourceful, innovative ideas from the staff, together we can provide opportunities for growth and development for all.


2018-2023 PROFILE

I am so grateful that the ESU had so many specialists to work with my son, because now I know what to do to help my child with autism. The speech pathologist and occupational therapist from the ESU have allowed him to gain more than I ever expected him to. I don’t know what I would have done without them.
The best part of working at ESU 5 is the people I work with!
ESU 5 Staff Member
ESU 5 is a wonderful place to work! My co-workers are helpful, friendly and supportive.
ESU 5 Staff Member